When you select the 'Users' link from the administrators 'Manage' bar you will see a list of current users. The list can filtered by department or name to help you find the right profile if you have a long list of users.
If you're a 'Site Admin' or 'Department Admin' you will also see a link for adding new users.
Once you have selected Add User, on the next screen you will see the Add User form to complete:
- You must fill in all the sections of this form, although you only need to enter one phone number (either work or home)
- You must assign a user to a department to enable them to build consultations, if you select 'no department' that user will be added as an analyst only (see the next section of this article for more details)
- We recommend typing every letter of their email address in lower case as this forms part of their log in and saves confusion! If you are copying a user's email from your email client this may make the initial letters of the user's first and last names capitalised.
- If you're in the same location as the new user, we'd recommend you ask them to enter their password directly while you're in the process of filling out this form. This avoids having to ask them to re-set their password, and keeps it more secure because only they know what their password is.
Once you've registered a new user, they do not receive an automated notification. There's some further guidance on how to welcome a new user securely, or how to re-set a password in this article.
Adding a user as an Analyst only
Follow the instructions to add a new user as above, but when populating their profile you will need to select 'No department' from the 'Departments' list. This will mean that your new user will only be able to analyse the consultations to which they are assigned and cannot create their own consultations.
This article explains how to assign users as analysts to consultations.
Promoting, demoting, suspending and reinstating users
When you set up a new User, their default permission level is 'Individual Admin'. (You can learn about the different types of users and their permissions here.)
To change this, once the User has been registered, you will need to edit their profile. Find their name in the User list, go to their profile and use the Promote and Demote links to change the User's status.
On each user's profile, you will also find buttons in the top right hand corner to edit their profile (i.e. change any of their details such as name, job title, email address or contact details) or suspend them from using Citizen Space. Once a user has been suspended, they will no longer be able to log into Citizen Space. In their user profile, the "suspend" button will be replaced by a button that you can use to reinstate their account if need be.