Suspending a department is a good idea if you would like to temporarily revoke access, or if the Department no longer exists but you would like their consultations to remain within that team from a public perspective. Suspended departments can be reinstated.
Only Site Admins can suspend and reinstate departments. To suspend a department, go to the Departments list and click the 'Suspend' link next to the name of the relevant department. The 'Suspend' link will be replaced with a 'Reinstate' link.
Note: Suspending a department will also suspend all the users in that department, preventing them from logging in. Users will remain suspended if the department is reinstated, and will need to be reinstated individually.
If you're a Site Admin, you can also delete a Department from the Departments page.
In version 1.11.3, released on the 5 June 2013, we removed the ability to delete a Department (called 'Teams' for some customers) if it still contains consultations and/or users (previously, deleting a department would also remove any users and consultations within it). Now you will see a warning message if the department still contains users or consultations:
Users and consultations can be moved to another department, or deleted as appropriate. This prevents unintentional removal of consultations or users. As an alternative, a department can be suspended, which is not permanent (unlike deletion), and is our recommended method to take a department 'out of use'.