Your dialogue may be either pre-moderated or post-moderated:
- Pre-moderation: Ideas and comments will not go live on the site until they are approved by a moderator.
- Post-moderation: Ideas and comments appear on the site as soon as they are posted, but can be rejected later if necessary.
Our article "Keeping the conversation going - advice for quality moderation" gives more guidance on choosing between pre-moderation and post-moderation.
Moderation settings affect all challenges in your site. It's not possible to change the overall moderation settings for a single challenge.
Changing the settings
You will need to be logged in as a Site Admin user in order to change the moderation settings. Once logged in, select the "Administration" link at the top of the public-facing site to get to the admin side, then select the "Site Settings" link at the top of the page.
You'll find a "Moderation Settings" section. This will tell you whether the site is currently pre-moderated or post-moderated. To change this setting, select the "Moderation Settings" link.
Use the radio buttons to switch between "pre-moderation" and "post-moderation".
Changing the settings when you have open challenges
Sometimes you will decide to switch between pre-moderation and post-moderation after ideas and comments have already been submitted. For example, some moderators prefer the discussion to be pre-moderated overnight, when they are not there to oversee the discussion, and post-moderated during the day, to encourage more real-time discussion.
If you change your moderation settings, unmoderated content will stay in the same state that it was when submitted. In other words:
- Ideas and comments submitted while the site was in post-moderation will remain visible unless rejected.
- Ideas and comments submitted while the site was in pre-moderation will remain hidden until approved.